RMT confirms new series of strikes on Docklands Light Railway

RAIL UNION RMT said today that staff across all grades on Keolis Amey Docklands Light Railway will strike on four occasions next year in a dispute over a range of serious unresolved issues that are wrecking industrial relations. The action follows a 48 hour strike on DLR last month which completely shut down the service for the duration.
 
The announcement of action comes after continuing talks have so far failed to make any serious progress. RMT members voted by 92% for action back in October.
 
All members have now been instructed to take the following strike action:

  • 03:59 hours on Monday 11th January 2016 until 03:59 hours on Tuesday 12th January 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Wednesday 13th January 2016 until 03:59 hours on Thursday 14th January 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Monday 8th February 2016 until 03:59 hours on Wednesday 10th February 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Thursday 11th February 2016 until 03:59 hours on Friday 12th February 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Monday 7th March 2016 until 03:59 hours on Wednesday 9th March 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Thursday 10th March 2016 until 03:59 hours on Saturday 12th March 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Monday 21st March 2016 until 03:59 hours on Friday 25th March 2016.

  • 03:59 hours on Tuesday 29th March 2016 until 03:59 hours on Saturday 2nd April 2016.

The key issues at the heart of the dispute remain:

  • Abuses of the use of agency staff  within the KAD network

  • Undermining the position of Control Centre, stores and other grades effectively casualising key functions

  • A creeping culture of bullying and intimidation of staff being allowed to develop

  • Breaches of agreements, procedures and the recognition framework.

RMT General Secretary Mick Cash said:
“RMT members on Keolis Amey Docklands have already shown their anger and determination with the rock solid strike action last week and despite that they are still not being listened to and that leaves us with no option but to schedule blocks of industrial action early next year.

 “Our members on DLR are furious at the way that Keolis/Amey are trying to bulldoze through some of the worst working practices and conditions that we associate with the operations of the most cheapskate and anti-union companies in the transport sector and that anger is reflected in the ballot results. We will not sit back and allow this aggressive and bullying culture to develop on this key part of London’s transport network.

 “The company should not have underestimated the anger of the workforce and KAD’s continued failure to address our issues has forced this action on us.  The union will continue with the talks process but to make any progress we need some solid indications that the company are actually listening and taking the grievances at the heart of the dispute seriously.”

> RMT National News

Wednesday, 4th December
RAIL UNION RMT today wrote to South Western Railway setting out a framework for renewed talks as members fighting on the twin issues of safety and accessibility on the companies trains enter their third day of strike action.
Tuesday, 3rd December
RAIL UNION RMT today issued a fresh call for further talks as members across the length and breadth of South Western Railway are standing firm on the second day of the December strike action in the fight for safe and accessible rail travel for all.
Monday, 2nd December
RAIL UNION RMT confirmed today that balloting will begin on Friday on Arrival Rail London for strike action and action short of a strike to resist an all-out assault on ticket offices.
Monday, 2nd December
RMT action in defence of safety on South Western Railway rock solid this morning as company slams the door on talks
Friday, 29th November
Government doles out £86 million of taxpayer’s money to South Western Railway when not running trains on strike days which proves dispute is politically motivated says RMT.